Maire Brennan – Two Horizons

Moya Brennan’s work away from Clannad has always suffered under the weight of comparisons to her sister, Enya. Her tendency to embrace the new age aesthetic that her sibling is so wrongfully accused of has won her as many detractors as it has supporters. On Two Horizons, Brennan embraces that tag, as well as the lush, Celtic mysticism of Enya, resulting in her finest offering yet. Taking a cue from The Red Violin, the record chronicles the history of a legendary harp used for celebration in Celtic mythology. Brennan, a devout Christian, takes a decidedly secular approach with the material, following the harp through the eyes of slave traders (“Ancient Town”) and an African princess (“Sailing Away”) to its triumphant return home to Tara in Ireland (“Harpsong”). The arrangements are heavy on the multi-tracked vocals and keyboards that have come to define the contemporary Celtic genre, but are lent authenticity by Maire Breatnach’s strings, Martin Carthy’s guitar, and Brennan’s inspired harp playing. This is melodically charged new age-progressive Celtic music at its best, and fans of Brennan’s work with Clannad will find much to love here, while those turned off by the previous descriptor would do well to distance themselves immediately.

Maire Brennan – Two Horizons

Two Horizons is the fifth solo album by Irish singer Moya Brennan. It is her first full-length release under the name Moya Brennan, as opposed to Máire Brennan. The album was predominantly recorded in her home studio in Dublin and was nominated for a Grammy award. The album was recorded between 2002–2003 and first became available on 23 October 2003. It is also Brennan’s first non-Christian album since her 1993 recording Misty Eyed Adventures. It is the most successful of her solo albums to date and the second to be Grammy-nominated.

Buy on iTunesBuy on Amazon

The album marks a change of direction in production, arrangement and style for Brennan in terms of her solo career, featuring no other vocalists but herself. The album features Irish fiddle player Máire Breatnach among others. The album also features much of Brennan’s current live band.

“Two Horizons” was a surprising move made by the lead singer of Clannad and Enya’s older sister, Moya Brennan. Not only did she change the spelling of her name (from Maire) to prevent confusion and mispronunciation, she also turned to secular music on her latest record, something that she hasn’t done in a very long time.

Taking a cue from “The Red Violin”, “Two Horizons” simply narrates the story of a harp, passing from hand to hand. The arrangements here are significantly more complicated than those on Brennan’s past albums. What separates her from Enya is the authencity lent by the use of traditional instruments, notably Brennan’s inspired harp-playing, which does resemble the approach taken by similar artists such as Loreena McKennitt. Furthermore, Brennan’s sound is more contemporary, with her addition of pop arrangements that feature prominently on “Mothers of the Desert” and “Falling”. The beautiful moments in this album are plenty, and the album does succeed in whisking the listener off to a faraway journey.


01. Moya Brennan – Show Me.mp3
02. Moya Brennan – Bright Star.mp3
03. Moya Brennan – Change My World.mp3
04. Moya Brennan – Bi Liom.mp3
05. Moya Brennan – Is It Now (Theme).mp3
06. Moya Brennan – Falling.mp3
07. Moya Brennan – Tara.mp3
08. Moya Brennan – Ancient Town.mp3
09. Moya Brennan – Show Me (Theme).mp3
10. Moya Brennan – Sailing Away.mp3
11. Moya Brennan – River.mp3
12. Moya Brennan – Is It Now.mp3
13. Moya Brennan – Mothers Of The Desert.mp3
14. Moya Brennan – Harpsong.mp3
15. Moya Brennan – Two Horizons.mp3
16. Moya Brennan – Show Me (Jakatta Mix)_Bonus Track.mp3

Bitrate: 320 kbps
Package size: 142 Mb
Transfer server:
Offered for the acquaintance

Download from cloud storage


Author Profile

Greta Hansen
I'm fond of medieval European music, folklore music, as well as various classical works of the early age

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

4 + 8 =